AAOHN Announces 2018 Class of Fellows

Contact: Ande Leslie

aleslie@aaohn.org; 312.673.5534


Chicago — AAOHN (American Association of Occupational Health Nurses) is proud to announce the 2018 Class of Fellows, chosen on behalf of their leadership in the field of occupational and environmental health nursing.

Every year, AAOHN awards fellowships to occupational health nurses who have made significant contributions in the areas of clinical practice, education, research, management or policy. Fellows provide vision to advance skills, knowledge and abilities of occupational and environmental health nurses, influence formation of policy, contribute to research and exemplify highly effective management and clinical practices.

The 2018 Fellows are:

Ruth Barlow, MS, RN, COHN-S, FAAOHN, Cary, N.C., serves as the Occupational Safety, Health, and Infection Control Nurse for Wake County Human Services in Raleigh, N.C. She oversees the occupational safety and health program and infection control program for their integrated public health and social services departments. She also consults with other departments in the county as needed. Ms. Barlow earned a Bachelor’s in Psychology and Nursing from the University of North Carolina as well as a Master’s of Science in Public Health Leadership from the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health.

Debra Daly-Gawenda, MSN, RN, CLNC, FAAOHN, Burr Ridge, Ill., is a Corporate Health Nurse at JP Morgan Chase & Co in Elgin, Ill. She has been a member of AAOHN for over 30 years and is the current President of the Illinois Association of Occupational Health Nurses.

David R. Embrey, RN, COHN-S/CM/SM, FAAOHN, West Fork, Ark., recently retired from a 27-year career as Senior Manager Area Occupational Health from Tyson Foods Inc., where he had oversight of 10 locations that employed 25 nurses who provided health care to over 5,000 team members. As Senior Manager, his responsibilities included hiring, training, auditing and regulatory compliance. Mr. Embrey's duties also included helping develop SOP's, Clinical Condition Guidelines and company-wide policies for occupational health. Mr. Embrey currently serves as an AAOHN Director from the South Central/Southwest region as well as a trustee of the AAOHN Foundation.

Janice Hartgens, BSBA, RN, COHN-S, FAAOHN, Rowell, Ga., serves as the Director of Occupational Health and Wellness for the United Parcel Service in Atlanta, Ga. She has been a member of AAOHN for almost 25 years and serves on the Board of Trustees for the AAOHN Foundation.

“The 2018 Class of Fellows represent the leadership, passion and dedication that our members bring to the practice of occupation and environmental health nursing every day,” said Kaye Englebrecht, AAOHN Executive Director. “Our members are leading authorities for the health and safety of the workforce, and AAOHN is incredibly proud to recognize their accomplishments with these important fellowships.”

Fellows are nominated and qualify to a strict set of criteria. They are selected by a Review Panel and are chosen based on demonstrated leadership, professional development and the potential for future contribution to the profession and their future goals.

To learn more about AAOHN fellowships, visit www.aaohn.org/fellows


Recent Stories
American Association of Occupational Health Nurses Foundation Announces 2022 Scholarship Awards

AAOHN Joins in Letters to House and Senate to Increase OSHA and NIOSH Funding

American Association of Occupational Health Nurses Foundation Announces 2021 Medique New Researcher Grant